« Jennifer Lopez Previews New Album and Single at Malibu Brunch [FULL DETAILS] | Main | Sweden's Andreas Moe Turns Rivers Into Oceans on His New Single [Review] »

Robyn and Röyksopp Deliver What We Hoped for on Glorious New 'Do It Again'


The best thing about Robyn's new single with Röyksopp is that it delivers exactly what we had hoped for. Driven by a bouncy bassline and sparkly synth flourishes, "Do It Again" is an effervescent pop confection that's all about having the euphoria take over and letting yourself go on the dancefloor. It's the message of nostalgia and sweet escapism that dominates much of Robyn's work and this new track is an excellent example of that. "Do It Again" is taken from a brand-new mini album that Robyn and Röyksopp will release together next month in conjunction with a handful of shows on both sides of the Atlantic.

The mini album is a tastemaker for a full-length Röyksopp album that is expected sometime later this year. Unfortunately, a bunch of tracks from the mini album leaked and already made their way out to people. I contained myself and refused to listen to the low-quality audio tracks that were floating around. I waited for the full and rich WAV experience to fully immerse myself in Robyn's new music. That's how she intended the music to be enjoyed and we should respect that. 

In fact, the whole point of "Do It Again" is to celebrate the anticipation. "Wait for it, wait for the build up," Robyn reminds us. Of course, the song title is also a reference to Robyn's reunion with Röyksopp after they teamed previously on "The Girl & The Robot." The song was crafted as a rave-inspired throwback that the Swedish pop pixie and the Norwegian electro wonderboys worked on after a night out together in Bergen. Robyn refers to the song as an "accidental pop song" that came together spontaneously.  

Check out Röyksopp & Robyn "Do It Again" on Beats Music now. (P.S. I've heard the entire mini album in all of its sonic glory and fans will not be disappointed. Just wait for it. Available on May 26 via Cherrytree/Interscope Record)

April 29, 2014 | Permalink