« June 2009 | Main | August 2009 »

Must-Listen: Simian Mobile Disco feat. Beth Ditto "Cruel Intentions"

This is one of the most exciting collaborations I've heard in a very long-time.

Beth Ditto teaming up with Simian Mobile Disco is a match made in electro-pop-soul heaven. Super hot. Totally delish. It's a must-listen. This lusty, sleek dance floor ditty is taken from Simian Mobile Disco's second album, titled "Temporary Pleasure," which will be released on August 17. (Thanks to The Astrolabe for the heads up.)

July 31, 2009 in Beth Ditto | Permalink

Free MP3 Download: Killa Kela "Everyday" (Remixes)


Spunky British beatboxer Killa Kela teamed with super talented French electro maestro Alan Braxe on his new single, "Everyday." Check out two totally guilt-free remixes of the the song by Jackwob and Lifelike. Kela's new album is slated for a release in September.

Killa Kela "Everyday" (Lifelike Remix)
Killa Kela "Everyday" (Jackwob Remix)

July 31, 2009 in MP3 | Permalink | Comments (0)

Free MP3 Download: Soundwavve "It's All True" (Tracey Thorn Cover)


Soundwavve is the Brooklyn "emo-pop" outfit of Alex and Diamond, two talented musicians who serve up a infectious brew of pop, electro and radio-friendly hip hop beats. Check out their cover of Tracey Thorn's "It's All True," which Soundwavve turns up its head in their own unique way. It's pretty gutsy to cover such a well-known song among pop purists, but Soundwavve gives it a hot little ring of their own. Pay attention to the new lengthy outro the two added to the song. Very smooth. Very soulful.

Download Soundwavve "It's All True" (Tracey Thorn Cover)

July 30, 2009 in Soundwavve | Permalink | Comments (0)

Free MP3 Download: Chromeo "I Can't Tell You Why" (Eagles Cover)


Yum! This is something to salivate over.

I've been looking forward to Chromeo's DJ Kicks compilation ever since it was first announced. I haven't been this excited about a DJ Kicks album ever since Norwegian songstress Annie put together her collection years ago.

Chromeo turned their DJ Kicks into a tribute to Canada of sorts. The mix includes many maple leaf underground classics and obscurities. Obviously there are some unreleased versions (Chateau Marmont most notably) and Chromeo's own take on The Eagles' "I Can’t Tell You Why." The mix is sure to be a floor-filling, vocoding, suit-sweating good time. Full tracklisting:
1. Kano: "Ikeya-Seki"
2. Pierre Perpall: "J'aime Danser Avec Toi"
3. Toba: "Moving Up"
4. France Joli: "Gonna Get Over You"
5. Donna Allen: "Serious"
6. Lovelock: "Maybe Tonight"
7. Chateau Marmont: "Solar Antapex" rework
8. Val Young: "Seduction"
9. Soupir: "Larmes de Métal"
10. Lifelike: "Sequencer"
11. Carmen: "Time to Move"
12. Shotgun: "Don't You Wanna Make Love"
13. Cheri: "Murphy's Law"!
14. Leo Sayer: "Easy to Love"
15. Shazam: "Luckier"
16. Chromeo: "I Can't Tell You Why"
17. Diane Tell: "Tes Yeux"
18. The Alan Parsons Project: "Pipeline"

Download Chromeo "I Can't Tell You Why"

July 29, 2009 in Chromeo | Permalink | Comments (4)

Special Video Message from Patrick Wolf

It has been over a month since Patrick Wolf was awarded the MTV Logo ArjanWrites Award for International Crossover Award (watch). The singer took a moment in his busy touring schedule to record a special acceptance speech to thank all the people that voted for him. It's a hot mess. In a good way. Patrick-style. I love it. Thanks for this, Patrick! (Click here to download Patrick's latest CD, titled "The Bachelor," on Amazon.)

July 29, 2009 in Patrick Wolf | Permalink | Comments (0)