« Free Download: Nellie McKay "There You Are In Me" | Main | Arjanwrites.com 2006 Readers' Choice Poll »

New Young Pony Club Release Digital EP

New Young Pony Club is finally making their formal debut in the United States on Modular Records early in 2007. On January 23, the label will be putting out an EP with original songs and remixes of the group's punky-funky first single "Ice Cream." However, a digital version of the EP is already available on iTunes for your immediate listening pleasure.

You might recognize the song from the Intel "Multiply" commercial that is currently airing in the United States and Europe.

New York Pony Club are the brainchild of founding members Andy and Tahita, who put out “Ice Cream” on U.K. indie label Tirk. When all 1000 copies sold out within 3 days, the duo decided to think bigger and form a proper band. London based, by way of Cambridge, the female-dominated rabble rousing band now consists of Tahita (vocals) Andy (guitar) Lou (keyboards), Sarah (drums) and the Ukrainian Igor (bass).

The video for "Ice Cream" has been out for a while but if you haven seen this candy-flavored delight make sure to watch it and get your sugar fix for the day.

The tracklisting of the New York Pony Club EP includes "Ice Cream," "Get Dancey," "Descend,"  "Ice Cream (Comets remix)," "Ice Cream (Van She remix)" and "Ice Cream (DJ Medhi remix)." My favorite is the electro-rock version of Van She. The group will also be in the U.S. next week to play L.A. (6/12), San Francisco (7/12), NYC/Manhattan (8/12), NYC/Brooklyn (9/12).

November 27, 2006 in Music News | Permalink


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

I've been waiting so very long for a New Young Pony Club disc. Thanks for the good news!

Posted by: Julie_Gong at Nov 29, 2006 6:55:22 AM